“Perpetual Angel US”?

I Performed an MLA search yesterday to see what’s new(ish) with TSE scholarship, and I see this:

Pollard, Jacque. “Perpetual Angel US: Women in T. S. Eliot’s Verse of the 1920s.”  Yeats Eliot Review: A Journal of Criticism and Scholarship, 25.3 (2008): 11-17.

I sent that essay to the journal in 2007, I think, and heard nothing back. I assumed it was simply inadequate. In fact, I don’t recall even receiving a confirmation that anyone at the journal had received the paper. Ah, well.

One quibble: the title appears on the database as “Perpetual Angel US” rather than “Perpetual Angelus” (from “The Dry Salvages”).  Weird.

Update (10/31/14): I’ve received a copy of the article via ILL, and while it certainly looks nice, the editor didn’t list my academic affiliation (although we’d communicated using campus email); instead, a former place of residence is listed (how that information was retrieved, I do not know).  Again, weird.

I’ve been thinking on this; I can’t help but wonder about the copyright issues here. Surely the periodical doesn’t hold the copyright? Yes, the YER published my work, but it did so without notifying me. Hm.

Leave a Reply

